Solar Panels on Installments in Pakistan: A Comparison of Financing Options
Updated 15 September 2026 · By SolarNevs Research Desk, Dealer surveys + verified sources · 15 sources · Method ↗
Key Takeaways
- Several banks in Pakistan offer dedicated solar financing products for residential, commercial, and agricultural customers.
- Financing ranges from PKR 100,000 up to PKR 400 million, with tenures typically between 3 and 10 years.
- Eligibility often requires a minimum net monthly income of PKR 50,000 for salaried individuals and property ownership.
- The terms presented here were last accessed and verified on August 26, 2026, from the respective bank and vendor websites.
Navigating Solar Financing in Pakistan
Financing solar panels in Pakistan involves understanding various options provided by banks, often structured as conventional loans or Islamic financing modes. These options cater to different customer segments, including residential, commercial, and agricultural users, each with specific eligibility criteria and terms. This article compiles and compares the published terms from various institutions to help you understand what is available.
Conventional Bank Solar Financing
Conventional banks offer structured financing solutions for solar panel installations. These products typically involve a markup rate linked to KIBOR (Karachi Interbank Offered Rate), a down payment, and specific eligibility requirements.
Institution | Product Name | Type/Mode | Financing Range | Tenure | Markup Rate | Equity/Down Payment | Key Eligibility | Geographic Restrictions | Other Key Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bank Alfalah | Bank Alfalah Green Energy | Conventional | 4 KW – 1000 KW (solar systems); Up to PKR 400 million (single borrower) | Up to 5 years with a 3-month grace period | "Competitive markup rates linked with KIBOR"; "Variable rate linked with KIBOR + spread" | Not specified | Business Vintage: "At least 3 years in business (not applicable for Agri customers)"; Credit Record: "Clean e-CIB report required"; Repayment Capacity: "Installment not to exceed 20–30% above peak 3-month average bill (not applicable for Agri customers)"; Nationality: "Pakistani nationals with valid CNIC/NICOP" | Not specified | Repayment Options: "monthly, quarterly, or bi-annually"; Vendor: "Pre-approved, AEDB-registered vendors"; Security: "Hypothecation of equipment, personal guarantees, cheques, insurance, and mortgage (as per case)"; Insurance: "First-year insurance included upfront; built into installments thereafter" |
Bank Alfalah | Bank Alfalah Home Solar Finance | Conventional | Up to PKR 5 million | 3 to 10 years | Variable Pricing: "Local Salaried \ | 1 Year KIBOR + 3%"; "Self Employed Professional / Businessmen / Others Segment \ | 1 Year KIBOR + 4%"; "Customer may opt 6-months KIBOR as a benchmark"; Hybrid Pricing: "fix your installment for certain period and variable thereafter" | Not specified | Salaried: "Minimum Net Monthly Income: PKR 50,000", "25 years until retirement", "2 years (Permanent employees)"; Self-Employed/Businessmen/Others: "Minimum Net Monthly Income: PKR 100,000", "25–70 years", "3 years"; Property Ownership: "residential and owned by the borrower, spouse, or blood relatives" | Not specified | Installments: "Equal monthly installments"; Insurance: "Competitive Insurance", "first year’s premium paid upfront"; Co-Borrower: "Up to two co-borrowers (spouse or blood relatives)"; Prepayments: "Balloon or partial prepayments, or settle early with nominal charges"; Vendor: "Bank Alfalah–approved solar vendors" |
MCB Bank | MCB Green Ghar Finance | Conventional | PKR 200,000 - PKR 5,000,000 | Up to 7 years | "Markup Rate: 6 Month KIBOR + 3.5%" | "Minimum Equity Requirement: 20% for Salaried Class"; "25% for Self Employed or Business Owners" | Salaried Net Income: "PKR 75,000 per month", "2 years" employment length; Self-employed Net Income: "PKR 150,000 per month", "3 years" employment length; Debt Burden Ratio: "50% for Salaried Individual & 50% for Self-employed Professional/Businessman"; Borrower Age: "25 to 65 years old or up to retirement age (for salaried individuals), whichever is lower at the time of loan maturity" | "Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Faisalabad, Abbottabad, Bahawalpur, Gujranwala, Hyderabad, Multan, Peshawar & Sialkot" | Insurance: "Mandatory Solar Equipment Insurance"; Collateral/Security: "Up to PKR 1.5 Million loan amount: No requirement"; "Above PKR 1.5 Million loan amount: Mortgage against residential property"; Approved Vendors: Pantera Energy, Allied Solar, Elahi Energy, Zeus Energy, Sun Solar, AMA Energy Services, AE Power Alternative Energy, Hadron Solar, AlBario Engineering, Sleek Solar lnternational, Nimir Energy, Green Industrial Solutions, Sunhance, E-Shacks Solutions, Sympl Energy, Multiline, Sun Store Solar Power Solution, The Sky Land Energy, Royal Energy Pakistan, ROYAL BRUCKE ENERGY, SM Solar, World Machinery Store | |
MCB Bank | MCB Green Ghar Finance (Floating) | Conventional | Not specified | Not specified | "6 Months KIBOR + ____%" (percentage not specified); "The floating markup rate being a combination of KIBOR and spread will change on the Ist working day of each Jan and July of calendar year." | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Purpose: "Solar Financing - Home Renovation"; Processing Fee: "PKR 7,000/-(Plus FED)"; Prepayment: "Prepayment charges(Full Prepayment / Partial Prepayment) will be charged as per prevailing SOBC."; Late Payment Penalty: "Upto Rs. 1,500 Per Late Installment"; Insurance: "mandatory for Solar Equipment", "upto full value of Solar systems"; Life Insurance: "mandatory requirement for MCB Home Loan" |
Islamic Bank Solar Financing
Islamic financing options adhere to Shariah principles, often using modes like Diminishing Musharakah or Musawamah. These products typically refer to profit rates instead of markup rates and may include Takaful (Islamic insurance) charges.
Institution | Product Name | Type/Mode | Financing Range | Tenure | Profit Rate | Equity/Down Payment | Key Eligibility | Geographic Restrictions | Other Key Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bank Alfalah | Bank Alfalah Islamic Green Finance | Islamic (Diminishing Musharakah) | 3 KW – 100 KW (solar systems); Financing up to 80% | 3 – 10 years | "Competitive pricing and takaful rates" | Not specified | Nationality: "Pakistani CNIC/NICOP holder"; Salaried Age: "25–60 years", "Minimum Monthly Income: PKR 50,000", "1 year for permanent and 3 years for contractual" employment tenure; Non-salaried Age: "25–70 years", "Minimum Monthly Income: PKR 100,000", "3 years" employment tenure; Property: "self-owned residence" or "NOC from owner (if house belongs to parents/spouse/children/siblings)" | Not specified | Mode: "Structured under Diminishing Musharakah (Shirkat ul Milk)"; Co-applicant: "Parents, spouse, siblings or children can become your co-applicant"; Vendor: "select vendor of your choice from Bank Alfalah Approved list of Solar vendors"; Early Termination: "Early termination charges will be applied as per Schedule of charges" | |
JS Bank | JS GharApna Solar Finance | Islamic (implied by context of other JS Bank solar products under PDSP) | PKR 300,000 - PKR 7,000,000 | 3 to 7 Years | Not specified | "Minimum 20% for financing up to 6,000,000"; "Minimum 30% for financing up to 7,000,000" | Nationality: "Pakistani national"; Employment/Business Tenor: "Minimum 2 years"; Age: "Min: 27 Years (Salaried & Self Employed)"; Age at Maturity: "Salaried: 60 Years", "Self Employed: 65 Years"; Salaried Income (Permanent): "Rs. 75,000.00"; Salaried Income (Contractual): "Rs. 100,000.00"; Self Employed Income: "An average of Rs. 100,000/- balance per month"; Tax Filer: "Active tax filer with NTN number"; Property: "Owner of the resident (House) where solar facility is to be installed" | Not specified | Repayment: "Equal Monthly installments (EMI)"; Collateral: "Any collateral along with Hypothecation of energy Solution (only through JS Bank’s Authorized vendors) Personal Guarantee & Post- dated cheques"; Insurance: "Energy Solution Insurance (mandatory)" | |
JS Bank | JS Smart Roshni Solar Solution Financing | Islamic (implied by context of other JS Bank solar products under PDSP) | PKR 500,000 - PKR 10,000,000 | 3 to 7 Years | "1 year KIBOR + 3.5%" | "Minimum 20% of the total solution quotation value" | Nationality: "Pakistani national"; Business Operation: "at least one (1) year with sufficient knowledge of the business"; Property: "Proof of ownership of premises for solar installation should be provided"; Credit History: "Satisfactory credit history of existing bank borrowings"; Target: "Small & Medium Enterprise finance based on business cash flows" | Not specified | Repayment: "Equal Monthly installments (EMI)"; Collateral: "Any collateral along with Hypothecation of energy Solution (only through JS Bank’s Authorized vendors) Personal Guarantee & Post- dated cheques"; Insurance: "Energy Solution Insurance (mandatory)" | |
JS Bank | JS Agri Energy Finance | Islamic (implied by context of other JS Bank solar products under PDSP) | PKR 500,000 - PKR 5,000,000 | 3 to 7 Years | Not specified | "Minimum 10% of the financing amount" | Nationality: "Pakistani National"; Age: "Maximum 65 years on expiry of the facility"; Residency: "Permanent resident of the Area", "Must be residing within 30 kms radius of the financing branch"; Credit History: "Satisfactory credit history of existing bank borrowings" | Not specified | Purpose: "solar plants and solar-powered tube wells"; Repayment: "Quarterly Installments"; Collateral: "Agri-Passbook Fard Jamabandi & copy of Khasra Girdawari" | |
JS Bank | JS Green Finance (Combined Home and Solar) | Islamic (implied by context of other JS Bank solar products under PDSP) | Home Finance: "Minimum PKR 0.5 Mn up to PKR 100 Mn"; Solar Finance: "Between PKR 300,000 and PKR 7 Mn" | Home Finance: "1 to 25 Years"; Solar Finance: "3 to 7 Years" | Not specified | Solar Finance Equity: "Minimum 20% for financing up to PKR 5 Mn"; "Minimum 30% for financing up to PKR 7 Mn" | Nationality: "Pakistani National"; Experience: "Minimum 1 – 2 years of employment or in business"; Age: "Minimum 27 Years (Salaried & Self Employed)"; Age at Maturity: "Salaried: 60 Years", "Self Employed: 65 Years"; Salaried Income: "PKR 100,000 gross monthly income"; Self Employed Professional Income: "PKR 100,000"; Self Employed Businessperson Income: "PKR 150,000" | Not specified | Purpose: "combined home and solar financing solution"; Insurance: "Property Insurance, Solar Solution Insurance & Optional Life Insurance"; Collateral: "Any collateral along with Hypothecation of energy Solution (only through JS Bank’s Authorized vendors) Personal Guarantee & Post- dated cheques"; Variants: "Buy a Home + Solar installation", "Home renovation + Solar installation", "Balance Transfer Facility + Solar installation"; Solar solution: "will only be installed on the property financed by the bank (House)" | |
JS Bank | Pakistan Distributed Solar Project (PDSP) - Residential (JS GharApna) | Islamic (as GCF-accredited private bank for SBP scheme) | Loan Cap: "Up to PKR 20 million" | 3-7 years | "Kibor + Bank Spread" | "Minimum 20% of the total solution quotation value" | Nationality: "Pakistani national"; Employment/Business Tenor: "Minimum 2 years"; Age: "Min: 27 Years (Salaried & Self-Employed)"; Age at Maturity: "Salaried: 60 Years", "Self-Employed: 65 Years"; Salaried Income (Permanent): "Rs. 75,000.00"; Salaried Income (Contractual): "Rs. 100,000.00"; Self-Employed Income: "An average of Rs. 100,000/- balance per month"; Tax Filer: "Active tax filer with NTN number"; Property: "Owner of the resident (House) where the solar facility is to be installed" | Not specified | Repayment: "EMI or quarterly installments"; Collateral: "No Additional Collateral Required"; Project Life: "10 Years"; Output Target: "43.15 Megawatt"; Emission Reduction Target: "848,700 tCO₂eq" | |
JS Bank | Pakistan Distributed Solar Project (PDSP) - SME (JS Smart Roshni) | Islamic (as GCF-accredited private bank for SBP scheme) | Loan Cap: "Up to PKR 100 million" | 3-7 years | "Kibor + Bank Spread" | "Minimum 20% of the total solution quotation value" | Nationality: "Pakistani national"; Business Operation: "Operating business for at least one (1) year"; Property: "Proof of ownership of premises for solar installation should be provided"; Credit History: "Satisfactory credit history of existing bank borrowings"; SME Eligibility: "Businesses with up to 250 employees, paid-up capital up to PKR 25 million, and annual sales up to PKR 250 million." | Not specified | Repayment: "EMI or quarterly installments"; Collateral: "No Additional Collateral Required"; Project Life: "10 Years"; Output Target: "43.15 Megawatt"; Emission Reduction Target: "848,700 tCO₂eq" | |
JS Bank | Pakistan Distributed Solar Project (PDSP) - Agriculture (JS Agri Energy Finance) | Islamic (as GCF-accredited private bank for SBP scheme) | Ticket Size: "Up to PKR 10 million" | 3-7 years | "Kibor + Bank Spread" | "Minimum 20% of the total solution quotation value" | Nationality: "Pakistani National"; Age: "Maximum 65 years on expiry of the facility"; Residency: "Permanent resident of the Area"; Credit History: "Satisfactory credit history of existing bank borrowings" | Not specified | Repayment: "EMI or quarterly installments"; Collateral: "No Additional Collateral Required"; Project Life: "10 Years"; Output Target: "43.15 Megawatt"; Emission Reduction Target: "848,700 tCO₂eq"; Purpose: "Financing Solar PV solutions tailored for agricultural needs" | |
MCB Islamic Bank | MCB Islamic Bank Solar Energy Solution Finance | Islamic (Diminishing Musharakah, Musawamah) | 1KW upto 1000KW (capacity); Min PKR 100,000, Max up to PKR 2,500,000 (PKR 3,000,000 for Premium Banking customers); Finance up to 80% of the assessed value | Min 12 months (1 year), Max 60 months (5 years) | "Competitive profit rates" | Minimum Contribution: "20%"; On-Grid Down Payment: "With credit history ≥ 12 month - Minimum 15% maximum up to 50%"; "With credit history < 12 months - Minimum 30% maximum up to 50%"; Off-Grid Down Payment: "Minimum = 30% and maximum up to 50%" | Nationality: "Pakistani Resident Nationals"; Salaried Min Monthly Net Salary: "PKR 60,000/-"; Self-Employed Min Monthly Net Income: "PKR 100,000/-"; Primary Applicant Min Age: "25 years"; Primary Applicant Max Age (at maturity): "65 years"; Salaried Employment Length: "Minimum 2 years"; Self-employed Business Length: "3 years"; Property: "where solar has to be installed must be owned by applicant" | "Karachi, Lahore, Faisalabad, Islamabad, and Rawalpindi" | Mode: "Diminishing Musharakah"; Product Details Islamic Mode: "Musawamah"; Installment: "Un-equal monthly installments"; Security Collateral: "HPA on solar panel and 3 cheques"; Takaful: "Competitive Takaful rates"; Early Buyout: "either partially (to reduce monthly installment) or in full (as per Schedule of Bank Charges)"; Processing Charges: "PKR 6,000 + FED"; Not Included: "Batteries will not be financed"; "cost of “net metering” to be borne by the customers" | |
Meezan Bank | Meezan Solar | Islamic (Musawamah) | 1KW upto 1000KW (capacity); Min PKR 100,000 and Maximum up to PKR 2,500,000 (PKR 3,000,000 for Premium Banking customers) | Min 12 months (1 year) and Maximum upto 60 months (5 years) | "interest-free solar financing solution"; "Special Discount will be offered to Premium Customer" | On-Grid Down Payment: "With credit history ≥ 12 month - Minimum 15% maximum up to 50%"; "With credit history < 12 months - Minimum 30% maximum up to 50%"; Off-Grid Down Payment: "Minimum = 30% and maximum up to 50%" | Nationality: "Pakistani, adult, permanent resident, CNIC holder"; Salaried (Permanent) Income: "Minimum monthly gross salary PKR 100,000", "at least 2 continuous years" job tenure; Salaried (Contractual) Income: "Minimum monthly gross salary PKR 200,000", "03 years at current employer and overall, 05 years of experience"; Business Individual Income: "Minimum monthly gross income PKR 500,000", "At least 05 years" tenure; Tax Payee: "Must be an active tax payee with NTN number"; Account: "Account in Meezan Bank : Mandatory"; Property: "where solar has to be installed must be owned by applicant" | "Karachi, Lahore and Rawalpindi/Islamabad" | Mode: "Islamic concept of Musawamah"; Installment: "Un-equal monthly installments"; Security Collateral: "HPA on solar panel and 3 cheques"; Takaful/After sale: "Risk & reward will be transferred to customer after execution of Musawamah contract"; Processing Charges: "PKR 6,000 + FED"; Not Included: "Batteries will not be financed"; "cost of “net metering” to be borne by the customers" | |
Al Baraka Bank | Islamic Financing Scheme for Renewable Energy (IFRE) | Islamic (Murabaha / Diminishing Musharakah) | Category I: "Rs. 6 billion for a single project"; Category II: "Rs. 400 million for a single customers"; Category III: "Rs. 2 billion for a single customer" | Category I: "Max. 12 years"; Category II: "Max. 10 years"; Category III: "Max. 10 years" | Not specified | Not specified | Type of Customers: "Sponsors intending to set up renewable energy projects" | Not specified | Purpose: "provide financing for power projects/ installation using renewable energy sources, e.g. solar, wind, hydro, biogas, bio-fuels, bagasse cogeneration, and geothermal as fuel"; "caters the financing needs for large renewable energy power projects as well as for small-scale renewable energy solutions" | Al Baraka Bank Islamic Financing Scheme for Renewable Energy (IFRE) |
Dealer-Facilitated Solar Financing
Some solar solution providers facilitate financing through partnerships with banks, often leveraging government-backed schemes. These are not direct financing products from the dealer but rather a service to connect customers with bank financing.
Institution | Product Name | Type/Mode | Financing Range | Tenure | Markup/Profit Rate | Equity/Down Payment | Key Eligibility | Geographic Restrictions | Other Key Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Feroze Power | Solar Bank Financing (facilitated) | Conventional/Islamic (depends on partner bank) | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Feroze Power "provide solar system installations through flexible financing arrangements with subsidy support" via "The State Bank of Pakistan’s renewable energy financing program"; "presents solar energy system financing through a selection of monthly, quarterly and annual payment plans" |
Credit Card Installment Plans for Solar
Credit card installment plans can be an option for financing smaller solar systems, but specific terms for solar financing are not always explicitly published.
Institution | Product Name | Type/Mode | Financing Range | Tenure | Markup/Profit Rate | Equity/Down Payment | Key Eligibility | Geographic Restrictions | Other Key Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
UBL Digital | UBL Digital LIP (Installment Plan) | Conventional | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | This page lists various UBL products and services but does not provide specific rates or terms for credit card installment plans, nor does it mention solar financing. |
Banks with Unreachable or Undisclosed Solar Financing Terms
While several institutions offer solar financing, some banks' specific product details were not accessible or explicitly published at the time of our review. This does not mean they do not offer such products, but their terms could not be verified from publicly available online sources.
- Al Baraka Bank: The specific product page for Al Baraka Bank's direct solar financing returned a "Page not found!!!" error, preventing retrieval of product details beyond the general Islamic Financing Scheme for Renewable Energy (IFRE).
- Faysal Bank: The Faysal Islami Solar Finance product path returned an HTTP 403 error, blocking access to its terms.
- Bank of Punjab (BOP): Attempts to access BOP Solar and BOP Shamsi Tawanai terms resulted in an 846-byte client-rendered shell, making the terms unreadable.
- Habib Bank Limited (HBL): HBL's website did not have a reachable consumer solar product page, only press releases related to agricultural solar tube-well financing.
What the published terms do not tell you
When evaluating solar financing options, you may encounter information gaps in the publicly available documents. These gaps necessitate direct inquiry with the financial institution.
- MCB Green Ghar Finance (Floating): The Key Fact Statement dated November 3, 2025, for this product states "6 Months KIBOR + ____%" but does not specify the percentage of the bank's spread. This means the full floating markup rate is not disclosed in the document.
- Bank Alfalah Green Energy and Home Solar Finance: The equity or down payment requirement for these products is not specified in the published brand pages.
- Bank Alfalah Islamic Green Finance: While competitive pricing and Takaful rates are mentioned, the specific rates are not quantified in the brand page. The equity/down payment is also not specified.
- JS Bank Products (JS GharApna, JS Agri Energy Finance, JS Green Finance): The specific profit rates for these products are not published on their respective brand pages. While some are implied Islamic by context, this is not explicitly stated on all product pages.
- Al Baraka Bank Islamic Financing Scheme for Renewable Energy (IFRE): The profit rate and equity requirements for this scheme are not specified in the provided source.
- UBL Digital LIP (Installment Plan): The UBL Digital page lists various products but does not provide specific rates or terms for credit card installment plans related to solar financing.
- State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) Schemes: Direct access to SBP's primary documents for renewable energy schemes (e.g.,
sbp.org.pk) was blocked, meaning specific SBP figures could not be read from the primary source. This includes details that might clarify the "Kibor + Bank Spread" mentioned by JS Bank for its PDSP products.
We do not provide personalized financial advice. The information presented here is for general informational purposes only, based on publicly available documents. You should always confirm all terms and conditions directly with the financial institution.
Frequently asked questions
What is the maximum financing available for solar panels in Pakistan?
Financing ranges vary significantly by institution and product. For instance, Bank Alfalah offers up to PKR 400 million for business systems, while MCB Green Ghar Finance caps at PKR 5 million for residential.
What are the typical tenures for solar financing in Pakistan?
Tenures generally range from 3 to 10 years for most bank-facilitated solar financing products, though some business financing can extend up to 12 years, as seen with Al Baraka Bank's IFRE Category I.
Do banks offer Islamic financing for solar panels?
Yes, several banks like Bank Alfalah Islamic, MCB Islamic Bank, and Meezan Bank offer Islamic financing for solar panels, often structured under Diminishing Musharakah or Musawamah.
What is the minimum income required for solar financing?
Minimum net monthly income requirements vary, typically starting around PKR 50,000 for salaried individuals and PKR 100,000 for self-employed individuals, depending on the bank and product.
Are there options for solar financing without additional collateral?
Some products, like MCB Green Ghar Finance for loans up to PKR 1.5 million, state no additional collateral is required. JS Bank's PDSP products also state 'No Additional Collateral Required.'
References
- Bank Alfalah Green Energy — accessed 26 August 2026
- Bank Alfalah Home Solar Finance — accessed 26 August 2026
- MCB Green Ghar Finance — accessed 26 August 2026
- MCB Green Ghar Finance (KFS dated 3-Nov-2025) — accessed 26 August 2026
- Bank Alfalah Islamic Green Finance — accessed 26 August 2026
- JS GharApna Solar Solution Financing — accessed 26 August 2026
- JS Smart Roshni Solar Solution Financing — accessed 26 August 2026
- JS Agri Energy Finance — accessed 26 August 2026
- JS Green Finance — accessed 26 August 2026
- JS Pakistan Distributed Solar Project (PDSP) — accessed 26 August 2026
- MCB Islamic Bank Solar Energy Solution Finance — accessed 26 August 2026
- Meezan Solar — accessed 26 August 2026
- Al Baraka Bank Islamic Financing Scheme for Renewable Energy (IFRE) — accessed 26 August 2026
- Feroze Power Solar Panel Financing — accessed 26 August 2026
- UBL Digital LIP — accessed 26 August 2026
Related guides
More from schemes, subsidies & financing.